kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

Banished – Sons of Anarchy

I was planning to reserve judgement on this one until watching the second episode, but I could only manage to get through half of episode two before hitting the delete button.  I realized that the biggest problem with this show is the creators didn’t bother to give the viewer any compelling reasons to root for the bad boys who are supposed to be the protagonists.  About twenty minutes into the episode two, it occurred to me that all I had seen was that these bikers were a bunch of racists who run guns.  Note to FX – your own network has several examples of how to make viewers love characters who are assholes.  See Nip/Tuck, Rescue Me, and It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia for more information.

By the way, I’ve decided to stick with the regal theme and ‘banish’ the shows that I no longer plan to watch.  Not to be confused with cancelled shows, to which I’ll add the ‘RIP’ moniker.

September 29, 2008 - Posted by | Banished, Drama, New Series, Television | , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. DISAGREE! I actually like this show and WHAT – you can’t appreciate some much hotter Peg Bundy?

    Comment by Gracie | October 6, 2008

  2. Umm, no Peg.

    Comment by kingoftelevision | October 7, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

