kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

Dexter Season 3 Episode 3 – The Lion Sleeps Tonight

This week’s episode of Dexter helped me realize that I may have been missing one of the best things about the show all this time–the visuals.  I’ve noticed the use of color before, specifically the vibrant tones most of us associate with Miami.  What I haven’t really noticed before tonight is the way things are often held in frame, and now that I think back, this is something that has been a part of the show for a while.  The moment this clicked for me tonight was when Dexter met ADA Prado (Jimmy Smits) under the bridge for a private conversation.  If you get a chance to watch it again, notice the way the camera conveys the distance between the two when Dexter arrives, unsure about why he is meeting Prado.  Contrast this with the end of the meeting and how tight the shot is.  I don’t profess to be a gifted analyst of film, but I really think the kind of attention paid the cinematography is what sets Dexter and other shows on cable apart from their network cousins.

Other parts of the episode I loved (spoilers included):

  • The unborn baby being referred to as a roly-poly-chubby-cheeked-shit-machine
  • Dexter does yoga
  • Shopping out of the dead guy’s fridge
October 13, 2008 - Posted by | Drama, Television | , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

