kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

Hell’s Kitchen Season 5 Episode 1: 16 Chefs Compete

Hi, my name is Dan and I’m a Ramsayholic.

They say the first step is admitting the problem.  That said, I must be a hopeless addict because I really don’t think it’s a problem.  Hell’s Kitchen has become my favorite hour of schadenfreude on television.  I’m hooked on the feeling that comes with watching Chef Ramsay tear down these self-important assholes who call themselves great chefs.

Here come the spoilers, so if you missed the premiere, you can watch the streaming video here.

I really enjoyed how they got right into the cooking of the signature dishes this season instead of wasting time meeting the contestants.  We’ll learn all we need to about them soon enough.  Based on the signature dishes and the first night of service, it looks like the front runners are Carol and Ben.

The most deluded contestant by far is Lacey.  Not only does she think making steam pans full of generic gruel for Sodexho makes her an experienced chef, but she apparently thinks she’s attractive.  She actually said that a lot of people will probably see her and say, “Here’s another pretty girl trying to be a cook.” I’ve got news for you Lacey, most of the viewers are more likely to say, “Here’s another sea cow with no skills who fell ass-backwards into a spot in Gordon Ramsay’s kitchen.”  Admittedly, I’m not a fit guy, but then you don’t here me talking about how good looking I am.

My pick for a dark horse contestant? Despite her huge mistake with the sugar in the risotto, keep an eye on Colleen.  Gordon loves to try to break people down, but he often picks on the people he sees the most potential in.  If she can put up with Chef’s shit without quitting or making another major mistake, she may very well find herself at the Borgata with $250,000 in her pocket.

January 31, 2009 - Posted by | Premiere, Reality, Television | , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. […] season finale Well, I could have been more wrong about the outcome of Hell’s Kitchen, but not by much. My dark horse Colleen cracked under pressure and got axed just a handful of episodes in, and […]

    Pingback by Hell’s Kitchen Season 5 Finale « kingoftv.net | May 14, 2009

  2. […] My gut feel for front-runner based on nothing but picture, name, and hometown is Ra’mon-Lawrence Coleman, with my second choice being Nicolas Putvinski. I hope my picks for this are better than my guesses for the last season of Hell’s Kitchen. […]

    Pingback by Meet the Designers of Project Runway Season 6 « kingoftv.net | July 14, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

