kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

Worst Week Episode 15: The Epidural

I haven’t written about Worst Week since the pilot episode, so I’m a bit overdue on this follow-up.  At the time, I mentioned how great the dark humor and no laugh track was, and I wished that the clumsiness wouldn’t get old after a few episodes.  After 15 episodes, I can safely say my wish has come true.  In fact, the writers have done a great job getting the whole family in on the action.

Another comment I made before was the similarity of the premise to Meet the Parents.  Thankfully, the show has differentiated itself very well in only half a season.  While the physical comedy gets me laughing out loud, I’m more impressed with the very real back-and-forth that occurs between both Sam and Mel and Dick and Angela.  Both relationships show us the kind of genuine connection that’s missing from other shows.  I see a lot of the same interaction on the show that I have with my wife: awkwardness around the in-laws; having a few laughs at each other’s expense; teaming up to solve problems; and in the end a bond that survives whatever crazy shit you can dream up.

February 21, 2009 - Posted by | Comedy, Television | , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

