kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

Dollhouse Episode 2: The Target

The second episode of Dollhouse didn’t exactly convince me the show is going to be around for a while.  While entertaining, it pointed out a few flaws that may grow tiresome quickly.

Mild spoilers follow.

For an organization that is supposed to be so hard to find, the Dollhouse sure seems to display a lot of obvious behavior out in the world.  Perhaps our intrepid FBI agent should look for the fleet of black Dodge cargo vans driving around the city with hot girls and dudes hopping in and out of them.  Or maybe he should look for the place in LA big enough to house all the girls and dudes as well as what appears to be their own Special Forces unit complete with black helicopters.

A thought that occurred to me in the middle of the episode was–are van drivers Dollhouse’s version of Red Shirts?  When the camera pulled out to reveal the driver in the van with Langton, my first thought was, “Who the hell is this guy?”  I got my answer a few minutes later–no one important.

Last week I mentioned what a great job the premiere did with explaining the imprint technology without slowing down the pace of the episode.  This week, the flashbacks served their purpose, but gave the episode a choppy feel that just did not work for me.  And on the dialogue front, the whole “shoulder to the wheel” thing–totally lame.

Ultimately, I think Whedon and his co-creators will wish they had waited a few episodes before revealing the ‘glitches’ in Echo’s programming.  I think it would have allowed more viewers to get comfortable with the imprint technology, resulting in a bigger payoff when the process turned out not to be foolproof.

I’ll be hanging in, most likely for the duration of the series.  However, with Fox’s track record, I’m not sure that will be very long.

February 22, 2009 - Posted by | Scifi, Television | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. I wish they had of waited longer before getting into the ‘glitches’ too, but I think this show is being unfairly rushed and pressured due to this need to have it be an instant hit.

    I don’t know why Whedon went back to Fox for this series. I think he would have been better off at another network.

    Comment by James17930 | February 24, 2009

  2. I couldn’t agree more. Fox is the worst network when it comes to putting new shows on an absurdly short leash. Here’s hoping Dollhouse can buck the trend.

    Comment by kingoftelevision | February 25, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

