kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

In Treatment Season 2 Week 1

Before the premiere, I wasn’t sure how I felt about HBO’s decision to lump all five installments of In Treatment into two nights. After tonight, I’ve made up my mind.

We’ve only just met this season’s patients, so I’m not sure who I like most, and if the first season is any indication, I’m sure I’ll change my mind a few times between now and the finale. Based on the first five episodes, its a tie between April (Alison Pill) and Walter (John Mahoney), with Oliver (Aaron Shaw) next and Mia (Hope Davis) bringing up the rear.

It’s going to be interesting to see how the lawsuit takes its toll on Paul through the course of the season. His first conversation with Gina seems to indicate it’s going to tear him apart, but I suppose we’ll just have to wait to find out.

As for HBO’s scheduling decision, I love it. Thinking back to the first season, each week’s episodes had a natural ebb and flow that seemed to peak at each of Paul’s sessions with Gina, especially as the season drew to a close and Kate started coming along. I’m looking forward to the way this schedule will accelerate that cycle. I hope that will be enough for us to handle five days off before the next new installment.

April 6, 2009 - Posted by | Drama, Premiere, Television | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

