kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

Fringe Episode 15: Inner Child

After way too long a break, Fringe is finally back with fresh episodes to wrap up the first season.  Tonight we got an episode with everything we’ve come to expect plus a little extra.

I only had one thought when the little albino boy was revealed during the opening–Holy shit it’s The Observer as a little boy somehow.  Ultimately, I’m not sure that’s right, but this kid certainly has some special abilities, just like our favorite bald guy who loves jalapenos.  I suspected the boy was somehow reading Olivia’s emotions when he started freaking out as she got worked up in the hallway outside his hospital room.  The moment the boy shared with The Observer at the end of the episode made me think it’s not the last time we’ll see him, and that he probably has more abilities that will be revealed at a later date.  As for the abilities we saw tonight, I must admit that the upside-down writing totally freaked me out.

Just before tonight’s episode, I read this article on Ars Technica about the cracking of the code within the images at the commercial breaks.  Based on the article, I guessed the first image must be a W, and I guess I was right since the remaining images spelled out A-L-T-E-R.  I’m not exactly sure how significant these hidden words are, but I love when this kind of attention to detail is part of a show.  It certainly makes you wonder how many other hidden messages there are.

The only thing about tonight’s episode that was a bit lame to me was the serial killer’s method for tricking his first victim of the episode.  I mean this was totally pulled directly from Silence of the Lambs.  In fact, the only thing missing was the guy asking, “Would ya?” when his victim offered to help him load his windowless van.

Fortunately, no lame Silence of the Lambs reference could sink an episode that contained one of my favorite crazy Walter quotes to date: “I’m sure Agent Dunham knows what a penis looks like!  Don’t you Agent Dunham?”

April 7, 2009 - Posted by | Science, Scifi, Television | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. Very glad to see that Fringe is back. This episode was a little slow and there wasn’t much revelations other than the kid being a kinda junior observer, but I guess they are trying to smoothly ease viewers back in. Peter didn’t have much of a role tonight, but Walter had a lot of funny moments during this episode. Seems like he was a little more eccentric than usual.

    “I’m sure Agent Dunham knows what a PENIS looks like. Don’t you, Agent Dunham?”

    LOL freakin hilarious. Anyways, if you missed this episode, I just watched it online here at…

    http://watch-fringe.com/season-1-episode-15-inner-child/

    Comment by Claire Bear | April 8, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

