kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

Are you watching Castle?

My bias against new shows that premiere in the spring is not something I try to hide, but after watching the first six episodes of Castle last weekend, it may be something I need to change.

I put Castle on my first grid last fall because the premise sounded like a lot of fun. I was disappointed when the show was pushed back to spring, since that usually means the network has written it off. Based on the amount of promotion ABC is doing, it looks like support is not an issue.

We’ve seen the copycat serial killer bit before, but having the author stick around is something new.┬áNathan Fillion is perfect as the smartass, handsome, and slightly slimy Richard Castle–bestselling author, single dad, and ladies’ man. As much as I think Fillion is perfect for the role, I think Stana Katic is even better suited for her hard-ass detective, Kate Beckett. Katic has had many small roles on television and in film, but she performs like a seasoned veteran. Relative newcomer Molly Quinn is also excellent as Castle’s daughter Alexis, a sort of conscience/reality check for Castle’s impulsive nature.

The great news I just saw is that Michael Ausiello has upgraded Castle from “could go either way” to “a safe bet” on his Fall TV Cheat Sheet. I highly recommend getting on board with this one, and you can catch up at ABC’s website since they aren’t fully connected to Hulu yet.

May 7, 2009 - Posted by | Drama, New Series, Television | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Yes! I’m glad to hear someone else is enjoying it. It seems like it should be a trite, we’ve-seen-it-all-before detective show, but something makes it really, really fun. Probably lots of somethings, actually — the actors and the murderers not always being obvious a mile away, especially.

    Comment by Josh | May 8, 2009

  2. I totally agree–here’s hoping they can keep us guessing and the cast chemistry keeps getting better.

    Comment by kingoftelevision | May 9, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

