kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

Summer TV Preview Part 1: Monday

In the past, I wouldn’t have wasted my time with a summer preview. In fact, I have historically used the summer to catch up on movies and a couple tv shows I missed that are now on DVD. Times are different now though. I’m not sure exactly why, but the networks have finally realized that our televisions work all year round and not just in the fall and spring. In the spirit of their realization, I’m offering a summer preview in five parts.

 

Monday

 

ABC – I’m not a fan of The Bachelorette, and I would rather watch classic game show reruns than new series Here Come the Newlyweds. However, on July 20th at 10/9c, ABC is bringing us some serious guilty-pleasure material. Dating in the Dark takes three men and three women and only allows them to meet in total darkness. If they like what they hear (and feel) they can opt to see each other. Once the lights are on they have to decide if they want to go out again. I realize this sounds like it belongs on VH1, but I love the idea of watching people who are so desperate for a shot at love (or fame) they will stumble around in the dark to find it.

 

CBS – All reruns, but if you missed out this year it’s time to catch up on The Big Bang Theory, How I Met Your Mother, Two and a Half Men, and Rules of Engagement.

 

NBC – I’ve never understood why Criminal Intent is the least popular Law and Order franchise, considering it has the best acting talent. The episodes have already aired on USA, but NBC is going to rerun them for those who missed out. Jeff Goldblum has made a great addition to the cast, and you can hear him talk about his new gig.

 

FOX – More repeats, including the excellent fifth season of House and the new series Lie to Me. I didn’t bother with Lie to Me on the first opportunity, but now that it’s been picked up for another season I’m going to play catch up on what I’ve heard is a pretty good show.

 

ABC Family – I’ve made it a policy to completely ignore this channel due to my assumption that they show nothing but the same tween-targeted garbage you can find on Nick, Disney, and so many other channels. Then I was sitting at the movies earlier this year when a trailer for The Secret Life of the American Teenager played before the feature. I was intrigued enough to download the first episode from iTunes and I was very pleasantly surprised. Season two premieres at 8/7c on June 22nd.

 

Showtime – Here come the Botwins. Weeds is back for a fifth season at 10/9c on June 8th. Immediately following is the premiere of Nurse Jackie, a new series starring Edie Falco.

 

TNT – The summer tandem of The Closer and Raising the Bar return on June 8th at 9/8c. The best news I have here is that Bar’s Mark-Paul Gosselaar got a haircut for season two.

May 25, 2009 - Posted by | Comedy, Drama, New Series, Premiere, Reality, Renewed, Television | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. […] Back in May when I posted my summer preview, I mentioned that ABC was going to give us some guilty pleasure material with Dating in the Dark. Tonight was the premiere episode, and while I enjoyed it very much, I don’t feel guilty at all. […]

    Pingback by Dating In The Dark Episode 1: Polishing a Turd « kingoftv.net | July 20, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

