kingoftv.net

thoughts on pop culture

Banished: Secret Girlfriend

I have discovered the Comedy Central version of karma. For every Chapelle’s Show, there must be a Mind of Mencia.

Unfortunately for the creators of Secret Girlfriend, they are on the Mencia end of that equation. The only reason I put this show on my grid to begin with is because I was going to be recording South Park anyway, so I might as well check out the new show after it. Apparently the first-person POV is supposed to be entertaining, but then I suppose the makers of the Doom movie thought that too.

I could have tolerated the first-person camera gimmick if the show had been funny. Instead, it’s a half-assed attempt at shock humor that seems to be trying to recreate the magic of It’s Always Sunny in PhiladelphiaGirlfriend fails on every level. If you want to see a hilarious episode of comedy about making web video, skipĀ this garbageĀ and check out Season 4, Episode 3 of Sunny: “America’s Next Top Paddy’s Billboard Model Contest.”

Maybe if the makers of the show had spent as much time on the jokes as they did figuring out how to shoehorn in shots of tits and ass, the show would have been good. I’ve seen Playboy videos that are less demeaning to women than this show.

There has to be better content out there than this. Maybe I’m wrong though–after all, Mind of Mencia was on for four seasons.

October 10, 2009 - Posted by | Banished, Comedy, New Series, Premiere, Television | , , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. I think its a very good show and so do alot of other people i know its a show you either love or hate though

    Comment by Billkazm | November 19, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

